Homemade Ravioli

A place for Quattrones, Betteridges, and Praticos to share our family stories, history, and heritage.

Early Days

IMG_2160When I was a young girl I remember watching my mom sitting at her Kenmore sewing machine making all kinds of clothes for me and her.

I remember her making curtains for the kitchen too.  One day she asked if I would like to learn to sew. I was so excited.

So we sat and she showed me how to use the machine and make a straight seam. That’s about as far as I get until one day I made a jumper. I was so proud of that.

That was the extent of my sewing. Until now, over 50 years later.

About a month ago I decided to take a sewing class.  I’m enjoying it so much.  Now when I sit at my machine I picture my mom, sitting at her machine that was placed under the dining room window.  Wish I still had the machine but I don’t know whatever happened to it.

2 comments on “Early Days

  1. cherbett
    January 28, 2015

    Joan, you must feel so good about starting back with sewing. Not only personally because its a great skill but emotionally. You are connected to your Mom, once again! I vaguely remember your Mom because I was so young when she passed and I never met your day. However, I feel like I grew up with them when hearing all the stories and memories. Xo

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Joan I know she is so happy to see you picking this up again. I remember your mom showing me how to sew. It was when I was in 7th grade in jr high school. I was taking sewing in school and we would go over everything I was making in school. She had me sewing. I did sew a jumper, I remember it was white fury cloth, God know where I got it, but I did wear it a few times. But the dresses she made for you were beautiful. You were always the best dressed baby. Such memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2015 by .
