Homemade Ravioli

A place for Quattrones, Betteridges, and Praticos to share our family stories, history, and heritage.

Nanny’s Recipe for Manicotti

IMG_21702 eggs

4 heaping tablespoons of flour

1 cup lukewarm water

1 teaspoon oil — speck salt

fry very thin like pancakes

fill with ricotta & bake in over with gravy


Recipes, handwritten, are beautiful documents of family history and culture. This is my Nanny’s (Jennie Quattrone) recipe for manicotti. Does anyone remember her making them? I love that she actually handmade the shells (are they called shells? tubes? ricotta blankets? what are they called?) and that the rest of the recipe reads very spare and simple.

“Speck” of salt is also pretty charming too.

I imagine they didn’t need a lot of detail in their recipes because they all cooked together. They could all tell each other what they were doing wrong!

This is one of several recipes in a notebook that my mom keeps in a plastic bag in a closet. The notebook is just crumbling apart. It would be great to see some other pictures of recipes in the handwriting of our family.

My mom and I will post more from Nanny’s notebook over time.

About Brian Kelley

Middle school teacher, co-chair of our ELA department, and co-director with PAWLP. Follow me on Twitter @_briank_.

3 comments on “Nanny’s Recipe for Manicotti

  1. jkbett
    January 29, 2015

    I love coming across the old hand-written recipes. They’re so precious but so fragile. For years my family looked for a copy of my grandmother’so bread recipe. This year my mom gave me a gift for Christmas which I love. It is a serving platter with my grandmother’s hand-written bread recipe printed in the center. It’s a wonderful way to keep those favorite recipes and pass them down to the next generation. I’ll find out how/where my mom had it done and I’ll let you know.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. cherbett
    January 29, 2015

    Love the speck of salt. I remembet asking for recipes and the ingredients would fly out of their mouths like it was nothing. Never had a measurement just the ingredient. When I was learning how to make meatballs and wanted to know how much bread, I was told I woukd know by how it felt.. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2015 by .
