Homemade Ravioli

A place for Quattrones, Betteridges, and Praticos to share our family stories, history, and heritage.

The Ties that Bind Praticos and Quattrones

I spend the last 24 hours tracking an 18 month stretch from 1927 through 1929 that, for me, defines the deep closeness and love I have always felt a part of when it comes to Praticos and Quattrones.

Tracking the journey of Gregorio Pratico and Giuseppa Ragolino (hereafter referred to as Bepa) still brings questions for me, but I’ll start with what I know about Gregorio and Bepa’s arrival. According to the memory of Chris Pratico, Gregorio and Bepa were in America in 1921 and then returned to Pellaro, Reggio Calabria to marry, and then came back to the states.

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 12.30.36 PMAt least as far as the records I could find, only part of that story is confirmed. I can place Gregorio Pratico on the S.S. Caserta, arriving on April 6th, 1921. He is listed in the bottom 1/3 of the page. A close up of the second page of the ship’s manifest shows Gregorio reporting that he would be staying with his uncle, Ferdinando Quattrone, at 1911 So. Alder St. in Philadelphia.

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 10.08.27 AM

Yet, I have not been able to place Bepa on that voyage even though I have solid information regarding her name (Guiseppa Ragolino), birthdate, et al. As a matter of fact, Fred Quattrone was able to provide a terrific shot of Bepa’s passport which looks like it was registered in 1927.

FullSizeRender-2

It reads:

Cognome (Last Name): Ragolino; Nome (First Name): Guiseppa; Padre (Father): Carmelo; Madre (Mother): Quattrone, Domenico; nata il (born on): 18 giugno (June) 1900; a (at): Pellaro; Stato Civile (Marital Status): ? ; Nazionalita (Nationality): italiana; Professione (Profession): casalinga (housewife); Residenza: (Residence): Pellaro; via (street): Molina; connotati e. contrassegni salienti (connotations and notes highlights); fronte alta (high forehead) — occhio castano (brown eyes); capelli castano (brown hair); maso greco (farm greek), mento ????? (chin ????) colorito bruno (brown color) — ?????: nulla (nothing)

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 9.57.51 AM

However, I can place both Gregorio and Bepa on the S.S. Roma. It left Naples on June 9, 1927 and arrived in New York on June 18, 1927. So, at some point Gregorio went back for Bepa. As of yet, I have not been able to track down a ship manifest leaving the U.S. and heading back to Naples.

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 12.47.21 PM

On the S.S. Roma manifest, they are not listed on the same page, but both Gregorio and Beppa list the address that they are going to as 2510 S. 10 St. Phila. Pa. For all that I discovered, I still do not know what happened with Gregorio from 1921 through 1927–I mean, he was living with my great-grandfather, but I do not know what he did to earn money…was his plan always to go back and get Guiseppa Ragolino…was she indeed here in the country with him but somehow her records are still buried…

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 9.56.47 AM

Back to what I do know. I know their first child, Carmen Pratico, was born about ten months after their arrival in 1927, on April 6, 1928.

As I continued to dig, I found a sad record. This one just punched me in the gut because I wasn’t specifically looking for it nor was I expecting it. I came across the death certificates the twin daughters of Gregorio and Beppa: Domenico and Francis.

Since we know Carmen Pratico was born on April 6, 1928, and that the twins passed ten months later, I am left wondering at how emotionally draining a year that must have been for Gregorio and Bepa. I can imagine the family ties between Pratico and Quattrone only grew a little deeper and little tighter as each leaned on the other.

Screen Shot 2015-01-30 at 4.20.11 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-30 at 4.18.19 PM

Seeing the little zeroes listed for their age…brutal.

Side Note: Beppa’s name is listed as Josephine Ragolino as it does on her passport. And, the address is still listed as 2510 S. 10th Street. I don’t know if that carries any historical significance concerning the marriage and its being recognized by the government. I wonder why she had her maiden name written on the form.

Yet, by 1930, according to Census records, Bepa would be listed as a Pratico and they would be renting a house for $20 on So. 23rd Street and little Carmen would be 2 years old.Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 1.06.52 PM

Gregorio would be working as a “presser” for men’s clothing, and their second son, Gregory, would soon be arriving on May 22nd, 1934.

Screen Shot 2015-01-30 at 3.56.11 PM

Perhaps family can fill in some gaps and clean up some mistakes or oversights I may have made. Regardless, that eighteen month stretch from June 1927 through February 1929 was filled with wild swings of change for Gregorio and Bepa — the highest highs and the lowest lows. When I take a look at it from a distance, I can begin to understand even a little better the close, loving, connections Quattrones and Praticos have had for one another. Each family was there for one another through so much–I am sure my cousins and aunts can continue to educate me on just how deep those ties bind us. Ties that are deep in our blood and deep within our humanity.

About Brian Kelley

Middle school teacher, co-chair of our ELA department, and co-director with PAWLP. Follow me on Twitter @_briank_.

One comment on “The Ties that Bind Praticos and Quattrones

  1. goodman52015
    February 1, 2015

    Wow. This is great Brian. Yes very sad my father would tell me about the twins who passed away at birth. Probably something that may have been prevented today. Who knows, but sad. Thanks for posting this. Love ya

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2015 by .
