Homemade Ravioli

A place for Quattrones, Betteridges, and Praticos to share our family stories, history, and heritage.

The greatness of Helen

cropped-screen-shot-2015-01-27-at-6-37-31-am1.pngWow, what a subject…she was a great mom, there for everything.  She even joined the PTA to be part of our school activities. Then, she even became the president of Fells School PTA.  She did things that other mothers did not do in the my time.

When I was thirteen, when I contracted polio, she took care of my every need for six months while I was up in bed.  She served three hots while I was in bed.  Up and down the stairs everytime I needed her.  I could not get out of bed. I was literally bedridden. She did  all of this and took care of the rest of the family. She was a strong woman who did not show her emotions. But if you knew her  you knew how she felt.

She worked the polls and she was a die-hard Democrat. She told you how she thought and did not leave anything out.

She watched who my friends were and what I was involved in. She was very strict with curfew and who I associated with.

She opened our home to all our friends.  Whatever we had to eat, she opened her kitchen to whoever was there.

She was interested in all the things I liked and did not like.  She was always home for me when I got home from school.  I would help her out in the kitchen and she allowed me to learn everything I wanted to learn from her.

She did not push, but she always suggested. She helped me study, kept me informed of what was going on. I always felt secure with her around.

She taught me how to cook, bake, to keep a clean home. She loved her children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren to the end.  Always had patience for the young people.

She taught me so much. I am still learning from her today. Ever since I was a little girl she always suggested that I go to Giirls High. I never wanted to go.  She was so happy when I said I would go to St. Maria Goretti.

You all know she was with me until I was 70 years old, and she was 91.  She even took me to lunch for my 70th  birthday–in her wheel chair.

I prayed to God and asked him to take her fast, please do not let her suffer.  She suffered too much when my sister died and my father left her. But, she always bounced back and was there and enjoyed her family. She always wanted to see everyone and go to all the family functions. I was very fortunate to have her most of my life.  I thank God for that, but I still miss her and I feel she has never left me. Love you Mom.

by Joanne Betteridge

About Brian Kelley

Middle school teacher, co-chair of our ELA department, and co-director with PAWLP. Follow me on Twitter @_briank_.

2 comments on “The greatness of Helen

  1. mb
    February 9, 2015

    Something else about Aunt Helen. She was a good friend to my mom. When my parents first got married, they had no place to live. Aunt Helen offered my newly wed parents their back bedroom. My mom (of Irish & German descent) used to tell the story of how, much to her embarrassment, the whole Italian family came in and inspected the bed & room BEFORE the wedding & they threw money on the bed. (Nothing was mentioned about the ‘afterwards’ ). My dad & his brothers and friends serenaded my mom the night before the wedding when the room inspection took place.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. cmquattrone
    February 10, 2015

    A beautiful tribute! Xo

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2015 by .
